Valentines for Writers

You may have seen the delightful collection of Valentines for Journalists – which I totally heart.

It led me to compile my Valentines for Writers. Please show some love and add your own in the comments section. Happy Valentine’s Day!

Douglas Adams: You + me = 42.

Aldous Huxley: Your love is like soma.

George Orwell: Not even the Ministry of Love could keep us apart.

Fyodor Dostoyevsky: The only crime I am guilty of is loving you.

David Foster Wallace: Your corresp., having well considered every alternative, humbly submits for your consideration a  beseechment to reciprocate his ardour.*

*If, in so doing, one might expect to derive some measure of joy.

Stieg Larsson: My love for you is twisted.

John Grisham: It’s no mystery why I love you.

Edgar Allen Poe: The telltale beating of my heart is a dead giveaway.

Jack Kerouac: We would travel well together.

Herman Melville: Call me Ishmael, call me Jim – just call me!

J.K. Rowling: Let’s snuggle, my muggle.

Joseph Conrad: You have colonized my heart.

Mary Shelley: I love the way your parts are put together.

Charles Dickens: With you, it’s always the best of times.

Stephen King: Roses are redrum / Violence and goo / I was in misery / Until I met ur.

Anne Rice or Stephenie Meyer: Eternally yours.

Thomas Harris: Here is my heart on a platter.

Vladimir Nabokov: I love you so much, it should be illegal.

Mark Twain: You are the Huck Finn to my Tom Sawyer.

Franz Kafka: Your love has transformed me.

H.G. Wells: Be mine for all time(s).

Daniel Defoe: I wouldn’t want to be stranded on a deserted island with anyone but you.

Keith Richards: Love ya, baby.


About this entry